July 9, 2012
by Christopher Parker (@wheresbossman)

[RESULTS] 2012 Triple Crown Of SUP – Race #2 (Kihei)

The Triple Crown of Stand Up Paddling continued on the weekend, with Connor Baxter taking out Race #2 (aka the Warrior Cup) at Kihei on Maui’s south side.

The race was set to be a 10 mile downwinder but conditions weren’t looking too friendly, so the organisers cut it down to a 6 mile course from the Maui Canoe Club to Kihei Boat Ramp. There were cross winds at the start and headwinds near the finish, making it a tough day for the traditional unlimited boards and allowing a couple of 14 footers onto the podium.

Connor Baxter (Unlimited) was followed closely over the line by Bart de Zwart (14′) with Kai Lenny (14′) in third place overall. Meanwhile in the women’s race Andrea Moller was again totally unstoppable.

The Triple Crown of SUP wraps up next weekend with the biggest and best race of the series: the epic Maui to Molokai 27 miler. In the meantime you can check out some great shots of the action thanks to Jimmie Hepp, or scroll down to see the full race results.


2012 Triple Crown­ Of SUP – Race #2 RESULTS

(we’re still waiting on a full list of times)

1st: Connor Baxter (Unlimited)
2nd: Bart de Zwart (14′)
3rd: Kai Lenny (14′)
4th: Luiz Guida (Unlimited)
5th: Noa Ginella (14′)
6th: Zane Schweitzer (Unlimited)


Elite Men’s Unlimited
1st: Connor Baxter
2nd: Zane Schweitzer
3rd: Livio Menelau
4th: Scott Trudon
5th: Jim Glinn

Elite Men’s 14’
1st: Kai Lenny
2nd: Noa Ginella
3rd: Dylan Frick

Elite Women’s Unlimited
1st: Andrea Moller

Amateur Men’s 12’6
16 years & under
1st: RJ Whener

Amateur Men’s 14’
16 years & under
1st: Tucker Ingalls

1st: Bart de Zwart
2nd: Renato Spiritus

1st: Ron St. John
2nd: Roger Casey

1st: Brue McKinney

Amateur Men’s Unlimited
29 & under:
1st: Luiz Guida
2nd: Noah Garfield

1st: Ed Wheeler
2nd: Justin Gordon
3rd: Claudio Chian

1st: Mike Bennett
2nd: Gregory Harbottle
3rd: Ron Gallemore

1st: Marciano Sado

Amateur Women’s 14’
1st: Sharon Li

Amateur Women’s Unlimited
29 & under:
1st: Terrene Black

1st: Marjorie Kahookele‐Pea
2nd: Gina Lawless

1st: Margaret King